The Pie Life: A Guilt-Free Recipe for Success and Satisfaction

cover87627-medium
I must say that this book is delightfully well written. That is the reason I am rating it so highly. I like the author’s concept of dividing the different focuses in your life up like you would a pie and assigning them different sizes that make up the whole. Unfortunately, much in this book fell flat for me. I am not saying that the author doesn’t give good advice, it just isn’t completely applicable everyone. This book geared towards working women (or those who want to work), who also have children, and perhaps a lackluster social life, that want to find a happy medium between them.
It doesn’t apply to women who want to stay at home. It doesn’t apply to those like me who don’t have kids. I couldn’t give myself an accurate score on most of the quizzes, because many questions involved children. It also surprisingly doesn’t apply to women who have a husband with lofty career goals as well. I can’t count the number of times she mentioned a husband going to and recording a recital/play/concert that the wife missed because she had to work. Yes, it’s nice if your husband can help you with the balance, but what if he has to work late too? Does only one spouse get to have a fulfilling/balanced life?

That being said, this book will help some women. Unfortunately, I am not one of them. If you are stressed because you feel like work is too much and you are not paying enough attention to your kids, read this.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. I was not monetarily compensated for my review and all my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

