Love Comes Later

cover84439-medium

Love Comes After is a story that could very easily be found in real life. A still-mourning widower and a scholarly woman are forced into an engagement by tradition. They manage to convince their family to hold off the wedding for a year, allowing Hind to pursue a master’s degree in London. The book follows their separate lives through the year and gives the reader a glimpse of their thoughts.
This story taught me a lot about the Qatari lifestyle and how today’s youth have to try to balance modern ideals with traditional ones. Abdulla wants to grieve in peace, but tradition dictates that he move on and start a family. Hind wants to go to school and eventually work, but tradition dictates she marry and have children. The push and pull is heartbreaking.
I can’t say that the ending left me satisfied, but life rarely works out perfectly, so it is all the more realistic because of it.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. I was not monetarily compensated for my review and all my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

