Cold Stone and Ivy

Cold Stone and Ivyby H. Leighton Dickson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was a delightful hodgepodge of different genres that even includes characters from other Victorian-era stories! It blends steampunk, paranormal, murder mystery, and thriller, with a dash of romance to boot! I was initially worried because I have read many books and seen many movies and tv shows that have involved Jack the Ripper and I didn’t think there could be any new ideas on who he was. This book surprised me, even at the very end! About halfway through I thought I had it figured out. As an avid mystery reader, I usually figure it out sooner than most. The twist towards the end totally threw me for a loop!
I love the characters too. The heroine Ivy is a crime investigator’s daughter/penny dreadful author, who has previously been living her dreams vicariously through her character. Once she receives a human heart in the mail from the infamous Jack the Ripper, she has to become the girl criminologist she has always dreamed of being. She is assisted by several wonderfully zany characters she meets along the way.
I would love to read more stories about these characters and will definitely seek out more from this author!

Leave a Reply

