Review: Lady of the Bridge

Lady of the Bridge
by Laura Kitchell

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love that this book takes place in 17th century Japan, which is refreshingly unusual for a romance. I was starting to get bored with everything set in the Regency/Victorian eras of England! I am also a Japanese culture and history buff, so the setting was particularly intriguing. Saiko has a unique personality for that era. She is well read, athletic, and brave. All of which, were a rarity for women in those times. I found her to be very complex. The male lead Takamori was a little less complex, but how many men are both sword masters and self-taught art geniuses? Overall I thought it was a poignant story of star-crossed lovers that was very much worth my time reading it. Highly recommended.

Thanks to Net Galley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC to review.

 

Leave a Reply

