Livia Lone

Livia Lone by Barry Eisler

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have to say, I found this book very compelling. Rather than start the book with a lot of background information, the Eisler begins the story right in the action. Because of this I started out not really liking the main character Livia. She is a loner and a vigilante. As the book progresses, you learn more about her past and why she acts the way she does. You start to sympathize with her.

Eisler was also able to convey the horrors of human trafficking in a way that other media outlets cannot. Livia’s story really struck a cord with me. It was humbling. It made me realize how lucky I am to not have experienced such terrible things. If I had, would I have been so strong? Would I have had her drive? Would I single-handedly attempt to take down the people responsible? That’s what makes this story great. Livia does everything in her power to uncover the group responsible for trafficking her and her sister, with the hope they will lead her to that sister.

I strongly recommend this book. It is not just an action packed novel, but a human interest piece as well. You won’t regret it.

Thank you to Net Galley and the publisher for giving me an ARC.

Leave a Reply

