Review: Good in Bed

Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner

 

 

 

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book has a great theme of acceptance that is focused on weight issues, but touches on other areas too. While Cannie learns to love the body she is in, she also learns to accept other aspects in her life that she is unhappy about (her mother being gay, her father leaving her at a young age, etc). The recurring phrase “you can’t change the things other people do, you can only change how you react to it” really hit home with me. While I didn’t always agree with how the main character Cannie reacted to each situation, I could still relate to the overall message. Why get upset over something you can’t change? Accepting the situation and moving past it is very freeing.

One thing I wish I had realized when starting the book is that it takes place in 1998-1999. There is nothing wrong with that, but I was easier to understand after I figured that out. I had to think back to those days when most people did not own cell phones and laptops. I also feel like we as a people have progressed in our opinions of overweight people and gay people (maybe this book had a hand in that progress?). I am not saying that overweight and gay people are not still treated differently today, but I like to think it is not as bad now. Also the date of the book affects the sizes mentioned. I did some research and found out that Cannie’s size 16 in the late 90’s is equivalent to a size 12 today, which also happens to be my dress size. I was a little surprised that someone my size would be considered fat then. I don’t see myself that way. So maybe this is proof of progress.

All in all, I think this is a good read. 15 years later it is still relevant.

Thank you to Net Galley and the publisher for the copy to review.

 

Leave a Reply

