Review: Maggie Dove’s Detective Agency

Maggie Dove's Detective Agency
by Susan Breen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Having read and enjoyed the first book in this series, I was excited to read the next! This one doesn’t disappoint. I still love the main character Maggie Dove. She is not your typical PI. She is a widowed retiree, who is looking for something meaningful to do. This book further develops the character, so she is constantly improving herself and her instincts. She is breaking out of her shell.

The story takes place around Halloween, so it was great that I got it in October. It explores the world of modern-day witchcraft and how Wicca is still perceived. It is truly enlightening. Ms. Dove even has a new grumpy black cat to make it even more Halloween themed!

However, even with the serious setting, it is not a psychological thriller at all. It is a simple old-school sleuthing novel. There is a bit of action, especially at the who-done-it reveal, but the book did not keep me constantly at the edge of my seat (thankfully). I can really tell that there was a lot of thought put into this book. I highly recommend this series to any fans of classic sleuthing novels!
Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for my ARC.

 

Leave a Reply

