Review: The Grain Brain Whole Life Plan: Boost Brain Performance, Lose Weight, and Achieve Optimal Health

The Grain Brain Whole Life Plan: Boost Brain Performance, Lose Weight, and Achieve Optimal Healthby David Perlmutter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I like this book better than most grain-free diet books, because it truly provides you with a whole life plan. It not only outlines proper food choices, but gives you supplement, exercise, and stress reduction suggestions too. The diet itself is essentially the ketogenic diet with a bit of the intermittent fasting diet thrown in. You eat a lot of protein and fat and greatly reduce your sugar and carbohydrate intake. It is a bit difficult for me as the diet is dairy-intensive and I am lactose intolerant. However I am adapting as best as possible. I have tried similar, but more drastic diets before with good results, but completely altering your lifestyle is extremely difficult. Especially when you go out to eat or to a friend’s house for dinner.

The Brain Grain Whole Life Plan is difficult to maintain for anyone who works a stereotypical job. Dr Perlmutter recommends a schedule of eating and exercise that that is practically impossible if you are away from home for long periods of time, especially if you have a designated meal time at work/school. Parts of it are simpler, like make veggies the star of the plate and drastically reduce carbs/starches (looking at you, potatoes). I am also not a fan of the suggested 72 hour fasts. These would basically send your body into starvation mode. The suggested mini skip-breakfast fasts do not bother me nearly as much. Skipping one meal is not dangerous and may actually keep you metabolism guessing. All this being said, if you can manage it, I think it will be helpful. I will try to follow the plan as closely as possible, but I cannot see myself following it to the letter.

Thanks to the publisher and Net Galley for the ARC.

Leave a Reply

